New challenges are about to come…

Yep, that’s how I feel. The new challenges I meant were the unknown situations I might face with my 6th graders. After 3 years of teaching lower primary, I am expected to teach in Grade 6 this year. What a burden, I thought. It was non-negotiable my Academic Division Head. Oh well…I can’t keep feeling sorry for myself. I need to earn my ticket to complete this year smoothly. That means I need to work hard and find possible solutions for problems that may occur. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not always a pessimistic person. I don’t think that my students are trouble makers, it’s more about me not being ready to teach older students. Here are some of my concerns:

  1. How to build a caring community?
  2. How to encourage them to manage their emotions?
  3. How to make sure that both PYP and the national curriculum are served well?
  4. How to encourage them to be responsible and respectful individuals?
  5. Do I need a reward and consequence system?
  6. How to teach them to behave well without expecting extrinsic reward? I want them to do something good not because they will get a reward, but because they believe that that’s the right thing to do.

So, today…I browsed the net to find advices. Luckily I found this blog http://mrpullen.wordpress.com. It has a lot of good suggestions I want to try. I think it’s really important to change my approach with the students this year. I don’t think the reward system I used last year in Grade 3 will work. I need to focus more on building the sense of belonging as a class. I want them to feel that they are a part of a caring family. I want them to see that every member needs to be appreciated and that everybody is unique in their own way.

*Sigh*…a long journey awaits and I hope I prepare myself well for this…

This website looks interesting too. Teachers may want to check it out http://www.responsiveclassroom.org/

New challenges are about to come…

2 thoughts on “New challenges are about to come…

  1. hi there Jessica. congrats on your new job! wow. you love teaching kids ya. as for me, I prefer teaching adults ’cause they are easier to negotiate with. hihi. good luck. πŸ™‚

    1. goresanika says:

      thanks for the comment, mbak…
      well yes, i suppose it’s easier to negotiate with adults πŸ™‚
      i like teaching children ’cause it’s really inspiring just to see they laugh and to listen to their comments on anything…
      my class now is sooooo LOUD. i thought i had the loudest class last year, but this year it’s even louder..wish me luck mbak…

Leave a comment